Finland Names Roster for World Championship

Finland Names Roster for World Championship

from staff reports

Team Finland has announced its 23-man roster for the 2014 Federation of International Lacrosse Men's World Championship, which takes place July 10-19, 2014 in Commerce City, Colo.

Finland will be playing in its third world championship after finishing ninth in 2006 and 12th in 2010. The roster includes five players that are currently playing at U.S. colleges, including Mercer sophomore midfielder Anssi Kaisalmi, who was named to the President's Team (one of Top 10 players in Red and Yellow Divisions) at the 2012 FIL U19 World Championship in Finland.

The roster and staff follow:

Lauri Uusitalo - Turku Titans
Hayden Johnstone - Stony Brook Univeristy
Mika Uotila - Helsinki Chiefs
Jarno Alm - Helsinki Chiefs
Eric Cooley - Rutgers University
Pentti Pekkonen - Helsinki Chiefs
Joakim Miller - Turku Titans
Harri Turkki - Helsinki Chiefs
Jani Viitanen - Vaasa Wishpooshs
Anssi Kaisalmi - Mercer University
Samuli Harala - Helsinki Chiefs
Joni Jalvanti - Lahti Predators
Sami Gräsbeck - Vaasa Wishpooshs
Jukka-Pekka Janhonen - Vaasa Wishpooshs
Mikael Lindqvist - Helsinki Chiefs
Arttu Kettula - Hampurg Warriors
Nick Ranta - Furman University
Rick Sainthill - Bishop´s University
Treven Salminen - Lees-McRae College
Rob Griffith - Edmonton Triads
Jarno Aaltonen - Turku Titans
Roope Jokela - Turku Titans
Risto Worthington - Mt. Washington Lacrosse Club
Head Coach: Connor Barhight    
Assistant Coach: Jeff Lewandowski    
Assistant Coach: Scott Barhight    
General Manager: Mika Wickström    
PR Manager: Mathias Roos